Tags

, ,

I bet when my friends and family read the header for this blog entry, they skipped a tiny breath! No worries: Ellen is absolutely fine. But this blog is about tennis and trisomy 21. The setback I’m referring to is Roger Federer missing the rest of the season as he recovers from knee surgery. (Ben would say this a classic example of my German sense of humor!)

Believe me, I would let you know if something serious were going on with Ellen. But let’s turn briefly to tennis. It’s taken me a while to come around to Roger Federer. He’s too perfect. He moves too gracefully around the court, always looks like he’s ready for a cover of Vogue, has won everything in sight, has four gorgeous children, and could build private grass courts at all his homes if he wanted to. His family is financially set for at least the next three generations. He even embraces his fiercest rivals, like Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic who are the only reasons why he may not be a unanimous choice for the greatest player of all time.

Fortunately, the game on the men’s side is more exciting than I can remember with Djokovic, Andy Murray, and Stan Wawrinka always contenders for major championships, the chance that Nadal and Federer might still have one last French Open or Wimbledon, respectively, to add to their resumes, and a new generation eager to catch up to them. If only the men and women embraced serve and volley tactics again.

So, recover well, Roger. I’m not even sure I will follow the Olympics this year, but I know many of your loyal and new fans, including me, will miss you at the U.S. Open.

