Tags

, , , , ,

I invited a friend to my blog today. Sherry is one of the kindest people I have ever met, a terrific writer, a true development professional, and an amazing mother. I’ve worked with Sherry for two years writing grants to support a small, independent school. She makes the intricacies of foundation requirements easy to process, the subtleties of a grant application fun to work through. We’ve had many long conversations in our work together, and we have become friends.

Today Sherry told me Ellen is an inspiration for a book she is considering writing, the theme of which would be children accepting differences and recognizing what they have in common. Sherry noted that Ellen came to mind because her parents are two dads.Ellen feiert!

I will admit, that yes, although I played hockey, I liked figure skating — big surprise for a gay man! When I really like a performance at the Olympics, I’ll listen to commentators from the United States and Germany. (I’m bilingual.) They usually have different takes on the highlights of the performance.

My chest was swelling a bit when Sherry was describing Ellen being an inspiration for children accepting differences. My mind immediately went to Ellen’s extra chromosome as the reason why other children would gain valuable lessons by including her in their lives. Sherry, though, talked about Ellen’s two fathers!

Isn’t it funny how the same topic, like the same figure skating performance, can be viewed in two entirely different ways? Sherry is right: there may well be children and parents who find Ellen’s home situation something new to take in, but I’m used to it!

It’s a scary time for the world in many ways, but I hope that what once was beyond the pale, like gay marriage, will more and more become the norm. I also will do whatever it takes so that folks like my daughter who have an extra chromosome are accepted into all reaches of life. I look forward to Sherry’s book and thank her for being inspired by Ellen.

