Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Late last week I was honored to speak at an interfaith celebration where my daughter, who calls herself a Quaker, sang her heart out with other young Buddhists from her Sunday school! You never know where life will take you!

One thing I have known since very early on are that many poems and poets will stay with you forever. How lucky I have been to be raised and taught by people who believe this.

I’ve lived in two languages most of my life, English and German. I was probably about 15 when I first started to read the poems of Rainer Maria Rilke in German. Soon, I progressed to Letters to a Young Poet (Briefe an einen jungen Dichter). The collection of letters changed my life. It still does. I closed my brief reflection at the interfaith celebration with words from Rilke. I reread Letters this weekend in between a family trip to the YMCA, Quaker meeting, a museum visit with Ellen, and our Sunday afternoon “date” where she is treated to her favorite smoothie (strawberry-banana)! Every word in Letters is beautiful, a reason to believe in life.

It’s my recommended reading this week for followers of my blog! Savor every minute!

