Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I now know my blog has become an entrenched daily habit like ironing, checking tennis results, morning coffee, snuggling with my daughter while she is still young enough to want that. It has been over three months. During the day I think about an entry I’m going to write or already have written, much like I used to do with poetry.

My last posting was actually written the night before. Like some poems, it had been in my Ellen feiert!mind for months. After work on Monday, it was finally ready to leave my head.

I’ve played tennis matches or run stretches of marathons where I stop thinking and the shots off the racket flow or the legs just move on their own. One remembers those times when one has missed three backhands in a row or one is struggling with cramps after 15 miles!

For my entry Awakenings, most of the words came out in a focused, steady stream. After stepping aside twice, I returned to the entry and knew it was ready to post. In fact, the first thing I did the next morning — before coffee, before checking emails, was hit the publish button.

Then I felt drained and relieved like I usually do after a marathon. I had so wanted to write the post, but its intensity scared me. How could I keep it light enough for the reader (and for me), but still convey the thoughts I needed to for my daughter?

I can’t say enough for years of sports preparing me to be a blogger. First, one needs to enjoy and want it. Second, one hopes it will become a habit. Third, one learns to take in stride the lows and savor the highs of the experience. Fourth, one paces oneself.

Before this entry gains too much intensity, I’ll end it. Writing about writing is a bit funny, like talking about talking, but once in a while it’s also therapeutic! Thank you for reading.

