Tags

, , , , ,

Well, yesterday’s post was a bit intense, so today I will lighten up!

Now that readers know I’m a hopeless romantic, I thought I would list my favorite books and movies:

In English:
Winesburg, Ohio by Sherwood Anderson
Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison

In German:
Briefe an einen jungen Dichter by Rainer Maria Rilke
Désirée by Annemarie Selinko

In French:
Trois couleurs: Rouge (Three Colors: Red) by  Krzysztof Kieślowski

In English:
The Bridges of Madison County by Clint Eastwood

I’ve been lucky to have lived in three languages pretty well (although French is a feeble third; I also made short-lived attempts at Russian and Ancient Greek). It opened worlds for a gay kid from a small town who for many years felt inadequate and like he did not belong. Books and movies made me forget my daily struggles, let me live a dual existence: that which I needed to do, and that to which I escaped.

As a hopeless romantic, I cried after reading or seeing the aforementioned — and I saw Rouge eight times (yes, 8), and The Bridges of Madison County four times.

Dear Readers, so I can expand my horizons, what are your favorite movies and books? Please share!

