Tags

, ,

Dear Readers,

Instead of an insufferable long list of pre-marathon activities this week, I’ll keep that short and add movie subthemes.

Today is my final “long” run if 7 or 8 miles count for a long run! I’ll complete them on the treadmill at the YMCA while my daughter is in the play area. In this way, I give my husband a few hours for himself, our daughter is safe, and I get my final running fix before the big day!

Now to the fun part: each movie this week will represent what I want for those 26.2 miles. Today my pick is Les Parapluies de Cherbourg or The Umbrellas of Cherbourg. I saw the film long after it was made in 1964 because I’m addicted to Catherine Deneuve who, by the way, had a child with Roger Vadim who was once married to another favorite actress: Jane Fonda.

Dialogue for The Umbrellas of Cherbourg is all sung. Everyday life is transformed in the film into searing but still playful drama that is as light as an umbrella being scooped up by the wind. The movie is kitschy and glorious.

Catherine Deneuve has said this is her favorite film because “it’s such a lift.” And that is how I want the marathon to be: full of color, light, aching and entirely worthwhile. All 17 previous of my marathons have been, so I’m hopeful!

