Tags

, , ,

The non-holidays between Christmas and New Year’s Day are filled with catch your breath moments.

I rewrote my post today after Debbie Reynolds died, one day after her daughter, Carrie Fisher. I never really followed either star. I saw only one of the Star Wars films. But as a Meryl Streep fan, I made it a point not to miss Postcards from the Edge that was based on Carrie’s relationship with her mother.

I’ve met celebrities or relatives of famous people. I’ve even been close friends with one or two. I don’t presume to understand the complexity of their lives, either the convenient or not so convenient sides. When I briefly worked as a model, every now and then someone would come up to me and say, “I know you from somewhere.” I was usually flattered but also slightly unnerved. Often I just smiled and replied, “No, I don’t think so,” and ended the conversation.

So to be in the spotlight must be a whole different world, the challenge of advancing one’s career by welcoming attention but at the same time losing privacy that most of us have.

I’m very sad for the family, friends, and many fans of Carrie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds. To lose a parent or a child is heartbreaking beyond words even if the relationship is complicated. I hope Carrie and Debbie have found each other again. It’s comforting to think that they were apart only for a short while.

 

