Tags

, , , , , ,

I have to take a deep breath or two every time Kellyanne Conway, Donald Trump’s top adviser, appears on TV. If I make it past a few minutes, I reach for the mute button and often need to recover.

Yesterday, though, words spoken by Kellyanne held my attention longer than usual to the point of disbelief. Hawking the First Daughter’s clothing line during a news interview defies conventional logic. It also may have violated a federal ethics law.

I read articles about Kellyanne’s infomercial to make sure my mind was intact.

In reading the articles, though, I also glanced at other readers’ “comments.” Both men and women took issue not only with Kellyanne’s words, but also her appearance. In many instances, a line was crossed.

Think what you may about Kellyanne for shilling Ivanka’s products, but Kellyanne was dressed professionally.

If a man had promoted Trump products, would viewers or readers weigh in on his hair, his waist size, his clothes, his face?

I used to be told frequently when I was growing up by well-meaning friends of my parents and even my own family members how to dress, move my hands, even how to control my facial expressions so that I “wouldn’t appear gay.” Truth be told, even after I came out of the closet, several guys I first dated talked to me about being “a little chunky.” Back then, I carried 160 pounds on my 6-foot frame.

In breathing a huge sigh of relief about no longer having to worry about “appearing gay,” I then became a little self-conscious about my weight. I decided to lose a few pounds by spending a half hour every evening on a track close to where I lived. Soon I got hooked on distance running. I haven’t weighed more than 150 pounds since I first started visiting the track.

I was also told by a straight man that now that I had come out of the closet, I would have to look, sound and perform better than straight men to advance my career.

By the time I met my husband, I had run five of my 18 marathons. I’m lucky I’m married to someone who loves me no matter what size I am or if my hair isn’t perfect (which it usually is not), or even if I have a birth defect (pectus excavatum to be precise).

My readers know what is coming next: my daughter, born with an extra chromosome, is gorgeous and always will be. In the years ahead, I will help her shrug off comments that may come her way about how she looks.

To say I’m not a Kellyanne Conway fan is an understatement, but she’s worked hard to be where she is today. It was claimed by the White House Press Secretary that she was counseled yesterday. I hope any counseling she receives will be about her words only.

