Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve always loved numbers. Had I not majored in journalism and creative writing (dual major) in college, I would have taken many more accounting classes. Go figure. (Ha, ha, ha!)

Rafael Nadal racked up some impressive numbers this weekend. He won the Monte Carlo Masters for the 10th time, his 50th clay court title on the men’s professional tennis tour, his 70th title overall for all surfaces that include hard and grass courts — good, clean figures!

In a few weeks my daughter will be seven. My husband and I together or individually have spent every night of her life with her. In other words, she has always been with one or both parents for 2,555 consecutive days and nights. That’s an impressive figure, and one we did not plan, but grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins live thousands of miles away. At some point, Ellen will be invited to a sleepover. It will be our first night without her and we’ll probably be awake most of the night thinking about her!

Speaking of numbers, late last week Ellen’s teacher made it clear that for second grade, Ellen will need to embrace math as much as she does reading, writing, science and history where she is holding her own.

GrünTagYesterday, for Earth Day celebrations, Ellen and three other children brought plants to ministers for a faith service. I worked that number 4 as best I could with addition, subtraction, multiplication, even division! It was fun for a while, but I’m asking my readers for suggestions on how to make kids love math. Let me know and I will share your suggestions in a new post.

It takes a village to raise a child. Thank you, followers of this blog, for joining the team.

