Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Ruckmann-by Kubota!There are many reasons to celebrate today. The Charter of the United Nations was signed this day in 1945. Exactly two years ago, the United States Supreme Court ruled that the Fourteenth Amendment requires all states to grant same-sex couples the fundamental right to marry. Pearl Buck was born on this day as well as yours truly.

I love how the French language makes everything sound beautiful and wondrous! Well, I have reached d’un certain age! A friend once said to me a few years ago, “Once we hit middle age, we hold onto it as long as we can!” He was right!

HulaI try to celebrate every day and today, without thinking too hard, I can find many reasons. Our daughter performed hula for the first time yesterday! On a long afternoon, she lost steam at the end, but she hung in there. I had a great talk this morning with my husband about our life together, and we’re coming up on 15 years of being committed to each other. I have a fulfilling job where I have a new professional goal I’ve wanted to pursue for a while. This year, I’m going to do it! In a few days, I’ll have written this blog for an entire year. I’m running my 19th marathon in July and my 20th in December. A few days ago, my dentist told me my teeth were in great shape, that I was not getting too long in the tooth — ha, ha!

I live in Hawaii. And although I pretend not to care, I received really nice cards from my mother, my sister, and my father-in-law.

I would like to dedicate this post to him. He is a remarkable man who supported my husband and me to become parents and in so doing, gave me the greatest gift of my life: our daughter. He is a gentleman who has worked hard his entire life and had his share of devastating turn of events, but he has always looked after people he cares about. And he’s a much better runner than I’ll ever be!

A thousand thanks to everyone who has helped me run this marathon called life. You inspire me every day, and hope I can pay forward all your kindness and generosity.

